SM-NBTC tournament gathers 32 HS basketball teams for 11th year

Already in its 11th season, NBTC is a year-round grassroots program that aims to identify, prepare, and develop outstanding players in public and private high schools around the country by being part of a national youth basketball league.

Kiefer Ravena, Terrence Romeo, Jeron Teng, and Troy Rosario are some of the basketball players who started with NBTC and have now moved successfully to collegiate and professional leagues.


The weeklong national finals and the annual high school all-star game gears up with 32 high school basketball teams, including champion teams from various leagues all over the Philippines, as well as from Filipino communities based in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and the United States of America, all competing to stand out as the best high school team for this season.

Among the seeded entries are the recently crowned UAAP Juniors Champion Ateneo De Manila, NCAA Juniors Division Titlist La Salle Greenhills, CESAFI King University of Visayas, and MMBL winner Chiang Kai Shek. Earning wild cards berths are squads from National University, Mapua, Sacred Heart School – Ateneo de Cebu, San Beda COllege, UST, Letran, and Adamson, who all made podium finishes in the respective leagues.


Also taking part in this massive tournament patterned after the NCAA tournament in the US are teams from Cagayan de Oro, Cavite, Davao, Midsayap, Baguio, Roxas City, Calamba, Bataan, Bacolod, Ormoc, Dumaguete, Pagadian, Dagupan, San Fernando, Naga, and Lipa City. These provincial squads will be competing with teams from the National Capital Region for Division One and Two trophies.

Exped Charcoal Socks presents SM-NBTC League National Finals is happening from 18th – 23rd March at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City.

Drew Uy

I do words, food, coffee, and photos. Hit me up on Twitter @ginuhit

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: